LoL World Championship Betting - Worlds 2020

League of Legends World Championship Betting Guide

LoL World Championship, also known as Worlds, is the most famous and vital League of Legends event of the year. This tournament takes place once every year and lasts for around six weeks, spanning multiple stages and multiple locations. It also provides numerous esports betting opportunities of which you can take advantage of if you like to bet on League of Legends.

League of Legends World Championship Odds

LOL World Championship Betting Markets

Match Winner

Team to Draw First Blood

Total Kills Odd/Even

First Turret

Team to kill Baron

Map duration

Odd/Even maps

Correct map score

Total maps

Map handicap

Map winner

Race to kills

Total kills

League of Legends World Championship always offers numerous LoL betting opportunities, simply because it features the best teams in the world and has numerous matches that you can bet on. Furthermore, each of these matches contains a lot of types of bets that you can take, ranging from the standard match-winner to game events such as a player becoming legendary by making sufficient consecutive kills without dying.

Every year, prior to Worlds and then throughout the event, at Vulkanbet you will find a lot of esports bets and coverage related to the tournament.

LoL World Championship History

LoL World Championship has had nine editions so far. The first edition took place in Sweden in 2011, while the last one took place in Europe in 2019. The evolution of the game and its professional scene over the years has been fascinating to watch, and the changes can be seen in Worlds’ prize pool, duration and number of participants. The evolution of the game and the history of this prestigious tournament can be seen in the table below.

  • 2011: prize pool: $100,000; participants: 8; winner: Fnatic
  • 2012: prize pool: $2 million; participants: 12; winner: Taipei Assassins
  • 2013: prize pool: $2.05 million; participants: 14; winner: SK Telecom T1
  • 2014: prize pool: $2.13 million; participants: 16; winner: Samsung White
  • 2015: prize pool: $2.13 million; participants: 16; winner: SK Telecom T1
  • 2016: prize pool: $5.07 million; participants: 16; winner: SK Telecom T1
  • 2017: prize pool: $4.94 million; participants: 24; winner: Samsung Galaxy
  • 2018: prize pool: $6.45 million; participants: 24; winner: Invictus Gaming
  • 2019: prize pool: $2.22 million + fan contribution; participants: 24; winner: FunPlus Phoenix

As you can see, the tournament has grown over the years, and this growth reflects the growth of League of Legends as a whole. Today, over 100 million people play LoL, and this esport is one of the most successful in the industry. In fact, apart from PUBG and Fortnite (two titles that are still in their infancy when it comes to their professional scenes), LoL is by far the most popular esport in the world.

LoL World Championship Competitive Format

LoL Worlds has three stages: Play-In Stage, Group Stage and Playoffs Stage.

Play-In Stage

For this stage, a total of 12 teams compete for just four available spots in the Group Stage of the tournament. The winners join another 12 teams that are already waiting in the groups (three of them in each group) and the Play-In teams complete these groups.

Group Stage

The Group Stage consists of Bo2 matches between every two opponents of every single group. In the end, the top two teams from each group advance to the Playoffs Stage.

Playoffs Stage

This stage is played in the single-elimination format. Every match is Bo5. In total, there are four Quarterfinals, two Semifinals and one Grand Final.

World Championship Stream

Esports Betting bonus

Check our welcome offer for betting on LoL World Championship Series

Welcome bonus
Deposit match

Three First Dep Bonuses

Bonus T&C
Sign Up
Three First Dep Bonuses